RegisterLog In

Resigning & Unfair Service Bond

Lost Boy
Wed, 08 Nov 2017 03:55:06 AM  (Last updated: Wed, 08 Nov 2017 04:35:03 PM)

I have been working at my company for almost 6 months now with monthly salary of RM2600, which my probation period will be ending. However I was verbally informed that I will not be confirmed in this company. I was also verbally threatened to be terminated/given show cause several times for my under performance, however everything was only given verbally and there was no written warning or whatsoever in black and white. They have also never given me any constructive feedback or improvement plans to work on my underperformance.

In my letter of appointment, there is also a clause for 2 years service bond as below:

a. The company notes that there shall be a service bond of 2 years between yourself and the company:
     i. 1 year for [Position A]
    ii. 1 year for [Position B]
b. If you resign before 2 years or we terminated you shall be liable to pay the balance of your bond period based on your monthly salary or the cost incurred by the company for the training including all incidental costs which ever if higher.

As stated, it seems that it does not matter if I resign or if I get terminated, I would still be liable to pay the balance of my bond period based on my monthly salary. For this matter, I have already consulted labor department, and the officer's comment is that the part where I still need to pay even terminated is seemingly unfair to me as the employee. I tried to clarify the clause with my HR but it seems that it's not a typo.

For your information, I have not received any training from the start of my work (e.g. seminars, workshops, conferences, etc.).