RegisterLog In

termination of an employee

sarah  
Mon, 19 Mar 2007 03:46:59 PM  (Last updated: Tue, 20 Mar 2007 11:01:13 AM)

HI,

I am a mgt trainee under hr dept, currently, my company encounter one problem which need to seek your advice.

There is one senior exec. from my company left the company without given any notice to the company. The actual scenario is that , the staff last day should be on 16/03/07 after deducting from his leave entitlement for the year, and we have to pay back 0.5 day salary to him on the balance of leave he has.

Although his last day is on 16/03/07, but he not yet sign on the letter on Acceptance of Resignation to clarify his last working day on 16/03/07 and he promise the company that he will stay on to finish is work before he confirm his last working date to us.But, as for today, he did not turn up for work and also didn't notify the company on his last working date.

For this above scenario,

1) What kind of action the company have to take? Can we terminate the staff immediately without paying him the salary ?

2) Can we take any legal action from the employee?

Thank you for your help. Hope you can reply me ASAP.

Yours sincerely,

Sara

KL Siew
Administrator
Mon, 19 Mar 2007 06:37:19 PM

Since the last working day was 16/03/07, everything is over isn't it? I am not very clear about the situation. Since you are only a trainee, I think you better consult your HR Manager before you take any action. Let the HR manager instruct you as to what action to take.

saras
Tue, 20 Mar 2007 09:37:54 AM

thanks for your reply:-

The manager need me to consult your opinion on the above matter. let me put the situation in a simple way: